Martin D. Goodkin

Profile

Username:
greatmartin
Name:
Martin D. Goodkin
Location:
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Birthday:
02/29
Status:
Single
Job / Career:
Other

Stats

Post Reads:
525,723
Posts:
6007
Photos:
2
Last Online:
3 days ago
View All »

My Friends

8 days ago
> 30 days ago
> 30 days ago
> 30 days ago
> 30 days ago
> 30 days ago
> 30 days ago
> 30 days ago

Subscribe

Gay, Poor Old Man

Entertainment > Streaming Reviews 5 Winners August 2022 Part 5
 

Streaming Reviews 5 Winners August 2022 Part 5



1) "13 the Musical"--Netflix--Movie--1 hour & 34 minutes--from the opening with various scenes of New York to the last musical number this movie about 13 years olds grabbed me--the Bar Mitzvah scene had me in tears though I don't remember mine--it's not great--not the best musical ever but the kids were great whether singing and/or dancing--the songs fit in--I never saw or heard about this Broadway musical and I don't know who the audience this was made for--maybe it was made for an old man who is still a kid but I thoroughly enjoyed it up to and including the last number which is joyful and fun.


2) "Inside the Mind of a Cat"--Netflix--Documentary--1 hour & 7 minutes--the title alone will sell it to the millions of cat lovers but even dog lovers will enjoy how inquisitive, intelligent, social and teachable cats are--does a cat play favorites? Know their name as silly as it may be? Do they love us? There has to be a part 2, if not a lot more chapters, to this fascinating look into our feline friends.


3) "Look Both Ways"--Netflix--Movie--1 hour & 50 minutes--we follow a woman (played by Lili Reinhart) as she follows 2 different paths in life--one as a single mother who is trying to find out how her life works while the other path is about a young artist trying to break into an industry that is very much closed--switching between both lives is done effortlessly and you never get 'lost'--Lili Reinhart does a remarkable job playing the same woman living 2 different lives--I found this to be a good and surprising film--highly recommend it.


4) "Belfast"--HBO Max--Northern Ireland Movie--1 hour & 37 minutes--Judi Dench makes a bad film good and a good movie better as she does in this film by Kenneth Branagh looking back at his childhood in Ireland during the Protestants and Catholics 'wars'--the interaction between Dench and Ciaran Hinds as husband and wife is delightful--they are grandparents everyone wants--Jude Hill as their grandson and for a young lad almost steals the picture from the professional and veteran actors--though it is in black & white (except for some Hollywood film excerpts in color) I wish it had been made in color to show Belfast but then it was a black and white time--an excellent too brief film!


AN ASIDE: I TOOK A MONTH TRIAL OF HBO MAX AND JUST WATCHING "BELFAST" AND "THE LAST MOVIE STARS" MADE IT MORE THAN WORTHWHILE.


5) "The Last Movie Stars"--HBO Max--Documentary--6 episodes--6 hours & 6 minutes--the first time I met Paul Newman and Joanne Woodward was when they were starring in "Baby Wants A Kiss" and I was working at the Ham 'n Eggs coffee shop--I think it was 1964--yes, his eyes were THAT blue and she was more beautiful in person than on screen and he was a good tipper!--we look at the famous, the beautiful people and we really don't know them--in this series we get to see a little behind the scenes these two people who we have preconceived ideas about--Paul Newman was better known than Joanne but that is mainly due to the fact she chose to stay home and take care of their kids at a time she should have been making movies--her answer to this gives you great insight to this woman--that plus seeing her reaction to Newman's line "Why buy hamburger when you have Filet Mignon at home?" is worth seeing this series alone but there is so much more to learn about them--it is sad to hear and see about his dying but watching Woodward in one of her last movies playing woman with Alzheimer's knowing that she has been dealing with that illness since 2007 but watching them individually, or as a couple, shows fascinating human beings who brought a lot and did a lot for the public--definitely worth seeing and making you want to watch all their movies!


posted on Aug 20, 2022 5:52 PM ()

Comment on this article   


6,007 articles found   [ Previous Article ]  [ Next Article ]  [ First ]  [ Last ]