Martin D. Goodkin

Profile

Username:
greatmartin
Name:
Martin D. Goodkin
Location:
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Birthday:
02/29
Status:
Single
Job / Career:
Other

Stats

Post Reads:
453,277
Posts:
5706
Photos:
2
Last Online:
2 days ago
View All »

My Friends

> 30 days ago
> 30 days ago
> 30 days ago
> 30 days ago
> 30 days ago
> 30 days ago
> 30 days ago
> 30 days ago

Subscribe

Gay, Poor Old Man

Entertainment > Movies > Like it is 2019 Movie Theatre Review
 

Like it is 2019 Movie Theatre Review



A year ago February--when I reached 21--I got, as one gift, a gift card to the AMC theatre and a week later the movie theatres shut down, as did the restaurants. For 20 years I went to a movie and then after a bite to eat and now, all of a sudden, it was watching movies on a TV while eating at home.


After 11 months I was ready, and taking all the precautions, we (Allen and I) decided to go for it. I had to go to Broward General hospital for a COVID-19 test for an outpatient test on Wednesday. My appointment was for 2 PM and the moving picture started at 4:30 PM so it was the appointment, then a bite to eat followed by the movie.


We went to the Peter Pan Diner for a late lunch and to add to the celebration I had a piece of carrot cake! The diner was doing a nice business with all the help wearing masks and only every other table being used. On a plus note, our waiter was one who knew me from the Denny's on 17th Street where I had at one time worked and where he usually waited on me in later years. I will say neither Allen or myself were pleased with what we got served but that's another review.


I had read a few excellent reviews of "Supernova" and Terry, in Memphis, said he and Chuck really liked it. It is basically a story of long-term lovers facing the tragedy of one living with early-onset dementia and how they are dealing with it.

The performances of Colin Firth and Stanley Tucci as the couple are excellent but, sadly---no pun intended--a 20-25 minute movie is expanded to 93 minutes with way too many hillside shots and road scenes, of their taking a trip in a RV, in spite of the stunning scenery in the English Lake District.


Yes they bicker, banter, show their love for each other but the movie should have started showing 10 minutes of this and then going into the pivotal turn of one of the men hearing a recording as the last 20 minutes are very emotionally moving. The piano solo at the end added time but nothing to what we had just gone through.


"Supernova" is worth seeing for Firth and Tucci's performances and the last 20 minutes.


By the way, all help at the AMC wore masks, there were hand sanitizer stations all over, distance markings on the floors and the auditoriums are restricted to 40% capacity though I will say only 4 people--2 besides us--were in the auditorium we were and the rest of the theatre looked about the same it was a safe environment.



posted on Feb 6, 2021 12:21 PM ()

Comment on this article   


5,706 articles found   [ Previous Article ]  [ Next Article ]  [ First ]  [ Last ]