Martin D. Goodkin

Profile

Username:
greatmartin
Name:
Martin D. Goodkin
Location:
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Birthday:
02/29
Status:
Single
Job / Career:
Other

Stats

Post Reads:
417,297
Posts:
5582
Photos:
2
Last Online:
12 hours ago
View All »

My Friends

2 days ago
29 days ago
> 30 days ago
> 30 days ago
> 30 days ago
> 30 days ago
> 30 days ago
> 30 days ago

Subscribe

Gay, Poor Old Man

Entertainment > Netflix Reviews
 

Netflix Reviews



1) Marc Maron Netflix "End Times Fun" 1 hour & 11 minutes 6) Patton Oswalt Netflix 1 hour and 7 minutes "I Love Everything"
Granted I am not a big fan of standup comics but I can honestly say after 2 hours and 18 minutes I laughed a total of, maybe, 3 minutes. I didn't find either man funny plus their endings were too eerily similar let alone too unfunny.


5) Comedian Darrell Hammond stars in a documentary "Cracked Up" Netflix 1 hour and 35 minutes. I was not familiar with Hammond though he played many characters over a 14 year period on "Saturday Night Live" known worldwide for 'being' Bill Clinton and Sean Connery among others. Most of his life he was addicted to various addictions and wears a 'badge of honor' consisting of self-inflected cuttings on his life arm. At about the 50-minute section, I found myself holding my breath for the next 15-20 minutes learning of the horrible abuse he went through as a child. Not easy to watch but certainly worth your time.


2) "Ben Platt Live from Radio City Music Hall" Netflix 1 hour and 25 minutes I am not familiar with Platt's movie work and except for a duet with Lin-Manual Miranda of "Story of Tonight" and "You Will Be Found" for March For Our Lives last year plus the fact that he became the sensation of Broadway in 2016 playing the title role. Due to the latter I had listened to the original Broadway cast album a few times and was impressed with his vocals. He was also the lead in the first season of "The Politician" on Netflix. Radio City Music Hall was filled to the rafters with his fans plus his parents and siblings and he is most touching talking about his mother and, especially, father.
The best part of the show is his talking between songs when he talks about coming out to his folks when he was 12, which is very funny, his being gay, and his various experiences with men and his constant battle with anxiety. His songs are from his 2019 debut album "Sing To Me Instead" with all original music written by him. (He does do one Elton John song.) This is where I had a problem with Platt. His lyrics are fantastic and moving but he sounds the same on all his songs with the same phrasing and sounds. The songs are mainly about his past and they are typical of a young man growing up. I hope his next album will show what he showed in "Dear Evan Hanson", which by the way he doesn't sing any of the songs from that show which is a mistake in my opinion as he should have sung one. His most moving song was "If You Have To Hurt Me" and I am looking forward to his next album and/or show.


4) "Trial By Media"--documentary--Netflix--6 episodes running from 58 to 64 minutes each. We follow 6 cases that were just as the title says, the trial blasted across the media. My interest was highlighted by the fact I knew/remembered most of the cases from the Bernard Goetz case of a man who shot 4 black teenagers in a New York subway to a gay man killed by a non-gay man after confessing his crush to him on the Jenny Jones talk show to one case which became an Oscar winner for Jody Foster called "The Accused".
Both the cases and what you may think were the media influences makes "Trial By Media" worth watching.


8) "The Wrong Missy"--Netflix--1 hour and 30 minutes--is a wrong miss from beginning to end! I want my 90 minutes back!


9) "Love Jacked"--Netflix--1 hour and 38 minutes--Not bad, not good. If you have nothing to do for 98 minutes you could do worse than seeing this, like watching #8!!!!


3) "Dead To Me"--Netflix--Season 1--10 episodes running 27-33 minutes each. A mystery soap opera with constant twists. Christina Applegate and Linda Cardellini star and bring that something 'extra' to keep each episode bringing you to the next.


7) "White Lines"--Netflix--10 episodes running from 51 to 63 minutes for a total of 9 hours and 6 minutes. This would have been an excellent series if it had been told in a linear fashion and cut down to about 6 hours. As it is "White Lines" is entertaining, the scenery in Ibiza eye-catching and the adults handling the ever happening twists from the younger kids they were. I had no idea where they were heading but with fast forward skipping some non-essential repetitive scenes I was happy with the ending!


posted on May 22, 2020 5:48 PM ()

Comment on this article   


5,582 articles found   [ Previous Article ]  [ Next Article ]  [ First ]  [ Last ]