Martin D. Goodkin

Profile

Username:
greatmartin
Name:
Martin D. Goodkin
Location:
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Birthday:
02/29
Status:
Single
Job / Career:
Other

Stats

Post Reads:
513,470
Posts:
5945
Photos:
2
Last Online:
10 hours ago
View All »

My Friends

> 30 days ago
> 30 days ago
> 30 days ago
> 30 days ago
> 30 days ago
> 30 days ago
> 30 days ago
> 30 days ago

Subscribe

Gay, Poor Old Man

Entertainment > "Heartstopper"--must See New Series!!!
 

"Heartstopper"--must See New Series!!!




This is the first time I have reviewed a series on streaming individually because I was so impressed with it! It is Season 1--8 episodes--3 hours and 53 minutes---on Netflix
Season 1
100%


Critics Consensus: An inclusive romance told with striking sensitivity, Heartstopper is so effortlessly charming that viewers won't dare skip a beat.
2022, Netflix, 8 episodes, View details



Heartstopper is a British coming-of-age romance streaming television series developed for Netflix based on the webcomic and graphic novel of the same name by Alice Oseman. The series was released on 22 April 2022 to critical acclaim.


I usually don't go for teenage coming out stories because I never went through the so many things they go through--hell, I never questioned my being gay going to the bars and baths in NYC when I was 13 & 14 BUT I was in tears through so much of this---happy tears, sad tears, heartbreaking tears--I mean I couldn't see the TV screen the last episode--I wish they would show this in every high school AND LIBRARY in the USA. This is only a fraction of what the series is all about--I don't want to give anything away--I want you to discover the kids as I did--as individuals--some knowing who they are, others guessing and still others having no cue--if you aren't one of these teens then you knew them or of them


"They have done a really good job with casting teens that look a lot like how they are illustrated in the comics. The series definitely has a British feel, which works really nicely. I am definitely looking forward to see if they stick with the plot all the way to the beginning. It is a a really well done romance that folds in some of the horrors teens face as well as the role social media plays in their lives." (AJ Librarian)


If you don't get Netflix get a trial period and watch this!! The two guys playing the leads Kit Connor and Joe Locke are dynamite!! And I was surprised to see Olivia Colman, in a smallish role, as Connor's mother.



Ahead are just the headlines of the many positive reviews--to read the full reviews just go to RottenTomtaoes.com:
SERIES INFO
Teens Charlie and Nick discover their unlikely friendship might be something more as they navigate school and young love.
Starring: Joseph Balderrama, Kit Connor, Sebastian Croft, Joe Locke, Fisayo Akinade


Avg Tomatometer

100
Avg Audience Score
98
Saloni Gajjar
AV Club
TOP CRITIC
Apr 25, 2022
Heartstopper aces this portrayal of the bashful hope and gutting anxiety that accompanies young love. But the show isn’t just aimed at an adolescent crowd.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Drew Gregory
Autostraddle
TOP CRITIC
Apr 22, 2022
This show is lovely. Charlie and Nick’s friendship and possible something-more-ship is a joy to watch in a simple kind of way that will melt as many hearts as it stops.
Full Review
Rebecca Nicholson
Guardian
TOP CRITIC
Apr 22, 2022
Heartstopper may not quite live up to the dramatic promise of its title, but this adorable teen romance is a heartwarmer, at the very least.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Lovia Gyarkye
Hollywood Reporter
TOP CRITIC
Apr 22, 2022
A coming-of-age story notable above all for its sweetness... Heartstopper’s dulcet tone is addictive.
Full Review
Carla Meyer
San Francisco Chronicle
TOP CRITIC
Apr 20, 2022
“Heartstopper” captures the joys and agonies of being a teen, when every stray text can make a profound impact, and being able to announce you are “going out with” someone means everything.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4

Apr 15, 2022
Heartstopper is a truly comforting, uplifting teen dramedy that's so loaded up on subtle moments of friendship and romance that your ticker will likely cease functioning at points.
Full Review





HEARTSTOPPER


Alice Oseman's Heartstopper is a beautifully poignant graphic novel about identity, friendship, crushes, and the flush of first love. Most people in school seem to know that Charlie is gay.



Heartstopper Vol. 1 definitely lives up to its hype of being a cute comic that is quick to read, one with diversity and a good representation with LGBT+ characters




posted on Apr 27, 2022 1:24 PM ()

Comments:

I'm pleased to hear you like it - usually if I see something is based on a comic book, I avoid it. I'll start watching it tonight.
comment by traveltales on Apr 27, 2022 7:13 PM ()
I didn't even know it was based on a comic book until my friend AJ told me!!
Let me know what you think/thought of it!
reply by greatmartin on Apr 27, 2022 7:48 PM ()

Comment on this article   


5,945 articles found   [ Previous Article ]  [ Next Article ]  [ First ]  [ Last ]